LoginLogin
Nintendo shutting down 3DS + Wii U online services, see our post

SmileBASIC 4 Discussion「プチコン4」

Root / General / [.]

📌
MZ952Created:
Wow. SB4 is really awesome. Does anyone have translations for the tutorials?
They actually cover a lot less than you'd think. These tutorials are intended for complete beginners to programming, so if you're already familiar with SB3, they won't be helpful to you. Actually translating all of them would take too long for me, since my Japanese skills are pretty limited, but here's the basic gist of each one: 01: Introducing SmileBASIC and the characters 02: How to open the software keyboard and use the right stick as a mouse 03: How to use Direct mode, using commands like PRINT, VIBRATE, and BEEP 04: How to write math expressions, recall the previous command with Up, use auto-completion, and ? shorthand for PRINT 05: How to switch to Edit mode and back, write a multi-line program, and run it, as well as loading and saving programs 06: How to use SPSET and SPOFS, and how to open and use help for a command 07: Explaining what X and Y coordinates are, how they use pixel units, and using a Z coordinate with SPOFS 08: How to read error messages, jumping to an error, and learning to debug programs 09: Learning what variables are, and how to use them 10: How to use SPROT, and write a simple game loop using LOOP...ENDLOOP and VSYNC 11: How to use : to have multiple statements on one line, how to use single-line IF statements, comparison operators, and BREAK 12: How to use BUTTON, the difference between functions and instructions, and to check the home page if you want to learn more about SmileBASIC That's it. The rest is stuff about how to use the menus, and the basics of using a USB keyboard and mouse for people who have never used a computer before (which is actually not uncommon in Japan, where phones have always been fairly advanced even before the rise of iPhone and Android). ACLS, XSCREEN, CLS, multi-line IF statements, ELSEIF